Finally Got My Apple….Oh and Saw the Pope.

I had every intention of writing this post last night, but once I laid in my bed, I had no energy to do anything. Granted, I did walk like 12 miles yesterday. so I guess it can be excused. 12 hours later,  I am awake and ready to go!

Per my title, I finally did get my apple! If anyone knows me at all, they know I love apples. Just ask my mom, she’ll tell you the story. But anyways, we went to a different grocery store that was smaller but the people there were a lot friendlier! I didn’t make the mistake of not weighing my fruit again and I got 4 apples for less than 2 dollars. I thought that was pretty exciting. Let me tell you, biting into this apple was the best thing ever.  Oh apple how I have missed you. Even though this store was smaller, they had everything we needed and sometimes even better selections! We will definitely be going back there.

Yesterday our class went and visited the Spanish steps and we got a tour around Keats house. That was pretty interesting and the Spanish steps were gorgeous. We then had a picnic in the park that also has a lookout above the Piazza del Popolo. That was also spectacular to see. As we walked towards the lookout there was a single palm tree in the middle of the center. Walking out of the park, the big trees outlined the palm tree and it was honestly such a pretty sight; I can’t get it out of my head. Truly stunning.Paradise in the city

Then later in the evening, our class walked to the Capitoline Hill, overlooking the Roman Forum to watch the moon rise behind the Colosseum. It didn’t rise. At least, it took too long to rise up behind the clouds and most of us were too cold to wait. But the Roman Forum was really cool. All the history that is there and to see what is left was fascinating.

Sidenote: I have to do a presentation on the Forum pretty soon. Yikes.

Snapchat--262250457989504301_resized

Since yesterday was Good Friday, there is a huge processional where the Pope carries the cross from the Vatican City to the Colosseum. This probably being our only opportunity to be apart of this, a group of us wanted to attend. It didn’t start until 9 so we went and grabbed dinner, and I had pizza! Being Italy, its delicious of course! I got the Diavolo pizza which basically has slices of salami on it. So good. I ate it all.

Snapchat-424780581273921922_resized

From there, we walked to the Colosseum and we got pretty close to the front! The pope had already arrived by the time we got there but I am pretty sure I saw him. No. I DID see him. I’d put a picture up of him but it is so grainy and really hard to see so just take my word. I SAW THE POPE. I didn’t really know anything that was happening or being said but it was just amazing to be there and witness the Pope, witness so many people coming together; it was truly an experience.

Right now it is 1:30 pm and I just started eating breakfast. I made oatmeal…not microwaveable oatmeal mind you (we have no microwave or oven), I used the stove. My mama would be so proud of me.

Buongiorno!

Leave a Reply

