Etruscans and a Picnic in the Park

Felice Mercoledi!

(Happy Wednesday for  my American folks)

I realize I have not posted in a few days, but that is only because I didn’t feel like I had enough to write about. So let me tell you about the past few days!

Snapchat-8444307437237093543_resized
Umbrella Trees!

Monday, we didn’t have typical class, we had a picnic in the park! We went to the Villa Doria Pamphili. This place was probably the most beautiful place I have ever been to. I feel like I am probably going to be saying that a lot in the upcoming weeks, but this was truly stunning. The park seemed to go on forever and every part of it was unique in its own way. In Italy there are these umbrella trees that I am absolutely obsessed with. Well this park has a whole section where you just walk through them. These trees remind me of the Lion King to be honest.

Snapchat--184429765995373004_resized

This park also had tons of grassy fields, lots of different playgrounds, and a huge lake! In this lake we saw a bunch of different birds, turtles, a goose, and a swan. The turtles were numerous. I don’t think I have ever seen that many turtles in one place! I could probably go on and on about how gorgeous this park was. I thought the scenery in Washington was beautiful but this is on a whole other level. I wish we could just have class here everyday. It is also really close to our apartment, so it’s a nice walk!

Yesterday, we just had class. It was extremely cold and windy here! I don’t think I got warm once all day…until I took a scalding hot shower that is. These classes are probably the toughest classes I have ever taken. It is all creative writing and that is not my forté. I’ve never done creative writing in my life and having to share almost every day what we’ve written is really hard for me. The good thing though, I think I am getting better. I feel a little more confident when we have to share in our “cohorts”. Which is really just a fancy name for a smaller group. Our cohort decided to name ourselves the Invisible Grapefruits. Sounds like a band name or something. Today in class we went over our upcoming assignments and I am extremely overwhelmed. Just trying to take it all in stride.

Snapchat-6795985803913589364_resized

On the upside, today was another fun day! We had a site visit at the Villa Giulia, which is a museum on the Etruscans. If you don’t know, the Etruscans were in Italy before the Romans, and the Romans essentially wiped them out. So this museum was dedicated to them and all the artifacts that have survived. It was pretty cool, they had a lot of vases and urns. I really liked the jewelry that the Etruscan women wore; some if it looks like things I would wear today. My favorite part was learning about their language. It is one of the least understood languages known and it is neat to see how far people have come in translating it, as well as how similar it looks to ours.

Snapchat--782476699741828262_resized
Thank you to my amazing roommate Cierra for buying me my first Macaron!

After that, we had some free time so as we were walking back to the Rome Center, we walked by the Spanish Steps again and guess what I found? SELF SERVE GELATO. If you know me at all, you know my obsession with froyo, and Gelato is ten steps up from froyo; I literally found heaven on earth. Sadly, I did not get to go in. One day….. I also tried a macaron for the first time! So amazing! I always had the idea in my head that they were disgusting but I got a raspberry flavored one and it was phenomenal! This might be the “souvenir” I bring back home, so to my family; tell me what flavors you want!

Tomorrow, we are getting up super early to take a bus out of town to the actual Etruscan tomb sites so I should probably end this and get ready for bed!

Buonanotte!!

Leave a Reply

