SydNYE 2016

Happy 2017 everyone!! I trust that we all had an insane and fun New Years Eve? I know I did!

I have no idea how this post will turn out on the computer as my own computer decided to stop charging completely so I’m typing all of this from my phone. Great. 

The last few days in Sydney have been amazing, especially getting to end our Australia adventures with New Years Eve at the Opera House! But I’ll get to that later ☺

The first full day in Sydney, we did a bunch of different types of tours: 

Walking Tour: Early in the morning, we walked a couple blocks from our hotel down to the Sydney Opera House. What a sight! We then had a guided tour throughout the opera house and learned about the history of it and got two sit in the large theater halls. It was quite spectacular to say the least! 



Boat Tour: From the opera house we headed straight to our private boat tour of the Sydney Harbor. Now let me tell you what NOT to do. Don’t forget your sunscreen or sunglasses. There wasn’t a patch of blue sky to be seen and I was still blinded and sunburnt (sorry Grandma). But we went up and down the harbor, under the bridge and back all while learning interesting facts about celebrity houses and what not. 

Bus Tour: From the boat we went straight on the bus for a tour around the city. Now honestly, I got really tired at this point and may or may not have (I did) dozed off. But we stopped at a few locations for pictures so there is proof that I was awake at some points.


One of the stops was the famous Bondi Beach and I don’t think I’ve ever had so much anxiety. SO. MANY. PEOPLE. I’m not kidding. I don’t know how people do that regularly but of course we had to get our pictures in the water.


Now the next was way more exciting because it involved Koalas, Kangaroos, and food! What more could a girl ask for? 

We got up bright and early in the morning to head to Featherdale Wildlife Park. There were tons of Koalas and Kangaroos!! And guess what? I got to touch (not hold) another Koala!

 

We also got to feed, or at least attempt to feed Kangaroos! They were definitely a lot smaller than I though but seeing as the movie Kangaroo Jack was my only reference, I guess I shouldn’t have had such high expectations. They also didn’t want to eat my food! I probably spent 15 minutes waving my food around until one FINALLY came over to eat it. My struggle is documented nicely below:


After the Wildlife Park, we went on a foodie tour. Considering 95% of my life is spent eating, I was pretty excited. Our first stop was an Italian Deli and it did not disappoint. prosciutto , pecorino , bread and olive oil, it made me miss Italy that much more. By the way I cleaned every plate: 

Our next stop was the Sydney fish market. The smell alone was enough to make me want to runaway and take a nice long shower. But I didn’t and I had some of the best calamari (fried) I’ve ever had. I also tried some Barramundi, which is a very popular fish here and then of course french fries because you always need some of those in your life. 

After the fish market we headed to Woolloomooloo (ask me how to pronounce that later) to a famous pie cart where we had some Aussie pies . Not my favorite but they were good, similar to chicken pot pie in America. Then in the same area we were taken to a bar to sample beer. Which I did not partake in because…gross. But the water was sure yummy ☺



Then the finale! GELATO. Oh how I miss gelato. We ended the foodie tour at a popular gelato store, which was the perfect end to a perfect day.

The foodie tour was a success! You name it and I ate it! 

And now we come to New Years Eve! Majority of the day was actually a free day and we had tons of plans that were all cancelled. We wanted to go to the zoo and Manly beach but the gorilla exhibit was closed and the ferries stopped running at 2pm so both were out of the question. But we ended up walking across the Sydney Harbor Bridge and back which had gorgeous views of the city.


Then we headed back to our hotel to get ready for the New Years Eve festivities. Our entire group was gifted tickets to a party at the Sydney Opera House and boy was it a party! Endless food, drinks, music and dancing! We had prime viewing for the fireworks show and it was an incredible night! The fireworks show was hands down the best I’ve ever seen.


I’m very thankful to have been able to spend Christmas and New Years Eve in an amazing country . I’m so ready to see what 2017 has in store.
And with that, my next post will be from New Zealand! 

G’day mate!

Sidenote: The new apple update now has the gorilla emoji and my life is complete 🦍🦍

Leave a Reply

